Social studies standards to change in Minnesota

Social Studies

[lin_video src=×9&auto_next=1&auto_start=0&div_id=videoplayer-1366344866&height=360&page_count=5&pf_id=9620&show_title=1&va_id=4023951&width=640&windows=2 service=syndicaster width=640 height=360 div_id=videoplayer-1366344866 type=script]

KIMT NEWS 3 — After a year-long process of analysis, expert reviews and public hearings, Minnesota has moved forward with new social study standards.

The state’s Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius and Governor Mark Dayton approved them this week.

They are a revision of the 2004 standards that break down subjects into four areas: history, geography, economics and citizenship.

The new standards can be adopted beginning next school year meaning area schools are already preparing.

“We had to shuffle some classes around a little bit, for example Minnesota history they want taught in 6th grade, which a lot of schools already did, we were teaching it in junior high so we actually started, for this year, working on it last year a little bit,” said Glenville-Emmons Principal Jeff Tietje.

The new standards were made and unanimously approved by a committee made up of educators, parents, business and government representatives.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s