Vouchers available for E. Iowa flood repairs

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Flood victims in eight eastern Iowa counties who are eligible for the state’s low-income disaster grant program can apply for vouchers if they don’t have cash to make repairs.

The program managed by the Iowa Department of Human Services will provide up to $5,000 in grants to people in Cedar, Johnson, Mahaska, Scott, Washington, Lee, Muscatine and Iowa counties. Gov. Terry Branstad issued disaster proclamations for those counties, which dealt with flooding in mid-April.

To qualify, people can have household incomes up to twice the federal poverty level. That’s a gross annual income of about $31,000 for a family of two.

Eligible people without money available for repairs can contact local Community Action Agencies and seek vouchers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s