Obama signs disaster declaration for Iowa counties

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for five Iowa counties damaged by severe weather in early April.

The announcement Monday means the counties of Dickinson, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola and Sioux will get federal funding under a public assistance program. Funding can be used for emergency repairs, essential government functions and grants for public schools.

The severe weather between April 9 and 11 included strong winds, heavy rain, thunderstorms, freezing rain, ice and snow. It damaged utility lines, poles, trees and vegetation.

The declaration puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs. Some are matched by state programs and designed to help public entities and certain non-profits. Gov. Terry Branstad requested the declaration on April 26.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s