Iowa officers will be honored at memorial

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Three of the 169 Iowa police officers who have died from injuries received in the line of duty will be honored at a Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony.

The 10 a.m. Friday ceremony at the Oran Pape State Office Building will honor Stuart Police Chief Robert Smith, Motor Vehicle Enforcement officer Philip J. Adams and Floyd County deputy Levi Bowers.

The Department of Public Safety says Smith was injured in 2009 while arresting a suspect. During surgery, complications arose and he was paralyzed. He died Aug. 13, 2010.

Adams was hit while flagging down a truck March 31, 1973. He died of his injuries.

Bowers died of gunshot wounds after exchanging gunfire on Feb. 24, 1916, with a suspect.

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds will attend the ceremony.

blog comments powered by Disqus