Iowa Gov. issues another disaster proclamation

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Gov. Terry Branstad has issued a disaster proclamation for another eight counties hit by recent storms and flooding.

Branstad made the announcement Wednesday. On Tuesday he issued a similar proclamation for 13 counties.

The counties covered by the proclamation are: Benton, Grundy, Johnson, Louisa, Lyon, Mitchell, Poweshiek and Wapello. Under the proclamation, state resources can be used to help counties recover from the storm. Aid could include removal of debris that threatens public health and safety.

In addition, residents in five of those counties may apply for an assistance program that offers grants to low-income households to help with expenses like home repairs, temporary housing, food or clothing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s