Several Iowa Counties Included in Disaster Declaration


[lin_video src=×9&auto_next=1&auto_start=0&div_id=videoplayer-1369885798&height=360&page_count=5&pf_id=9620&show_title=1&va_id=4077376&width=640&windows=2 service=syndicaster width=640 height=360 div_id=videoplayer-1369885798 type=script]

CHARLES CITY, IA – Floyd County has received a disaster proclamation by Governor Terry Branstad.

Just last week there was threat that the Cedar River would crest at 20 feet.

Having aid from the state will help the county with response and recovery, if and when more rain comes and flooding becomes a threat once again.

“Basically anything we need, the state has made available to us. It’s a good thing. We haven’t had a lot of damage yet but this opens it up so we’re ready in case we do,” says county Emergency Management Coordinator Mitch Nordmeyer.

Butler, Wright, and now Mitchell counties have also received disaster proclamations by Branstad.

Lower-income residents in several counties may also be eligible for monetary grants through the Iowa Individual Assistance Program.  The program provides up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200% of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,060 for a family of three.  These grants can be used for home or car repair, replacement of food or clothing, and to pay for temporary housing expenses.  Original receipts are required for reimbursement.

Click here to apply.  Applications must be received within 45 days of May 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s