Obama signs disaster declaration for April storms

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for Iowa, making federal funds available to 19 counties that were battered by severe storms and flooding in April.

The declaration signed Friday covers a period from April 17 to 30 in Appanoose, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Muscatine, Ringgold, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, and Wayne counties.

The action makes federal funds available to state and some local governments as well as certain nonprofit groups on a cost-sharing basis. The money can be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities.

The federal funds also can be used for hazard mitigation statewide.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s