Disaster proclamation issued for 5 Iowa counties

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Gov. Terry Branstad has issued a disaster emergency proclamation for five more counties affected by recent storms and flooding.

The governor made the announcement Friday for Appanoose, Lee, Muscatine, Wayne and Webster counties. It’s in addition to other counties affected by storms and flooding that began May 19.

The declaration helps counties access state resources in response to the damage.

Branstad also activated an assistance program for Fayette and Muscatine counties. The program provides grants of up to $5,000 for home or car repairs, clothing or food replacements and temporary housing expenses.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s