K-M Baseball Team wins first state title in program history


[lin_video src=http://eplayer.clipsyndicate.com/embed/player.js?aspect_ratio=16×9&auto_next=1&auto_start=0&div_id=videoplayer-1371524310&height=360&page_count=5&pf_id=9620&show_title=1&va_id=4100309&width=640&windows=2 service=syndicaster width=640 height=360 div_id=videoplayer-1371524310 type=script]

MSHSL Release:

The Komet’s of Kasson-Mantorville (25-6) scored three runs in the first inning and were never caught defeating the Yellowjacket’s of Perham (18-6), 8-1. Senior Joey Hyde got the win in a complete game performance, allowing just five hits while striking out five. The Komet’s team effort had nine different players getting at least one hit, and seven separate players scoring a run. Donovan Riley had a hit scored twice, and knocked two in. Seniors Jayden Prigge and Charlie Oertli, and junior Collin Ripley each had a pair of hits. Perham scored its only run of the game in the second inning after Eric Brauch and Jon Laughlin opened with singles. Austin Erickson sacrificed them to second and third, designated hitter Joey Lindberg’s sacrifice fly drove in Brauch with the lone Yellowjacket run. Laughlin had two of the five hits for Perham. It was the first baseball championship for Kasson-Mantorville in their third trip to the State Tournament. They had previous trips in 2005, and 2011.

blog comments powered by Disqus