Branstad Requests Disaster Declaration for Several North Iowa Counties

I-35 Near Hampton
I-35 Near Hampton

Des Moines, IA – Iowa Governor Terry Branstad signed a letter today to President Barack Obama asking for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 47 counties, including several in North Iowa.  The counties impacted suffered significant damage over the past month due to severe flooding, tornadoes, heavy wind, rain, and thunderstorms.

The governor is making the request for federal Public Assistance Program funding for the counties of Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago and Wright.

An assessment of the 47 counties found severe weather caused an estimated $22 million in damage.  Funda may be used to rebuild infrastructure including roads, bridges, culverts, and others, or can be used to cover debris removal costs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s