Branstad makes county eligible for disaster aid

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Gov. Terry Branstad says another southeast Iowa county has been added to a presidential disaster declaration that stems from severe weather in April.

Branstad announced Friday that Jefferson County has been added to the declaration, which already included 19 counties.

Those counties had damage caused by storms from April 17 to April 30.

The designation provides help to state and local governments and some nonprofit groups for emergency work and to repair or replace facilities damaged by during the storms.

The declaration isn’t related to Branstad’s more recent presidential disaster request made after flooding that hit the state beginning in May 19.

blog comments powered by Disqus