Cedar Rapids lawyer joins 1st District race

WATERLOO, Iowa (AP) — A Cedar Rapids attorney is joining the race for the Democratic nomination in Iowa’s 1st Congressional District.

The Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier reports (http://bit.ly/12iw40U ) Dave O’Brien launched his campaign Wednesday with events in Cedar Rapids, Dubuque and Waterloo.

O’Brien unsuccessfully ran for Congress in 1988.

O’Brien also was state chairman for the President Bill Clinton’s Iowa campaign in 1992.

Democrats Monica Vernon, a Cedar Rapids businesswoman, and state legislator Pat Murphy, of Dubuque, also are seeking the 1st District seat. Waterloo lawmaker Anesa Kajtazovic and former legislator Swati Dandekar, of Cedar Rapids, are considering entering the race.

Two businessmen, Steve Rathje, of Cedar Rapids, and Rod Blum, of Dubuque, are seeking the Republican nomination. Iowa House Speaker Kraig Paulsen, of Hiawatha, says he’s considering running.


Information from: Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier, http://www.wcfcourier.com

blog comments powered by Disqus