Big names populate Mayo expansion board

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Big names in Minnesota business and politics have been named to a governing authority that will oversee Mayo Clinic’s ambitious Destination Medical Center expansion.

Gov. Mark Dayton made four picks to the eight-member board on Tuesday. They are: his chief of staff Tina Smith, Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak, former Wells Fargo and Co. chief James Campbell and Rani Engineering president Susan Rani. Meanwhile, Mayo has designated ex-Medtronic chief executive Bill George as its representative on the panel.

The board of the nonprofit corporation is responsible for adopting the development plan that will guide the multi-billion expansion being aided by a significant public subsidy.

The newly named members join Rochester’s mayor, the city council president and an Olmsted County board designee.

Board members aren’t paid but are eligible for expense allowances.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s