Obama OKs disaster declaration for 10 IA counties

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster exists in 10 eastern Iowa counties hit by storms and flooding in June.

The White House says in a news release that Obama signed the declaration Wednesday evening for Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Clayton, Delaware, Howard, Jones and Winneshiek counties for damage they received due to storms and flooding from June 21 to 28.

The declaration makes federal funding available to state and local governments as well as some nonprofit groups for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says more declarations could be made later if requested by the state.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s