2 N. Iowa counties added to disaster declaration

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Two northern Iowa counties have been added to a presidential disaster declaration granted last month.

Gov. Terry Branstad’s office says Howard and Worth counties were added to the declaration granted by President Barack Obama on July 2.

The declaration provides assistance to state and local governments as well as some nonprofit organizations for emergency work and repairs to facilities damaged by severe weather the occurred from May 19 to June 14.

Obama previously included these counties in the declaration: Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago, and Wright.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s