Governor to present 18 lifesaving awards

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Gov. Terry Branstad is honoring 18 individuals with Governor’s Lifesaving Awards at the Iowa State Fairgrounds.

Branstad is presenting the awards at a ceremony at 10 a.m. Friday.

The event at the Susan Knapp Amphitheater is open to the public.

Four types of awards may be given including a lifesaving with valor award, given to someone who risked their own life to save another.

The lifesaving award is for someone who attempted to save the life of another without risking their own.

The meritorious award recognizes courageous and unselfish service rendered during a time of distress.

The outstanding award is for performing a courageous act in an attempt to save an individual whose life was in danger.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s