2 Iowa counties added to disaster declaration

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Two counties have been added to a presidential disaster declaration for damage caused by storms in June.

Gov. Terry Branstad announced Tuesday that Audubon and Grundy counties were added to the declaration that initially included Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Clayton, Delaware, Howard, Jones and Winneshiek counties.

Those areas suffered damage from severe storms and flooding between June 21 and 28.

The declaration by President Barack Obama provides assistance to state and local governments as well as certain nonprofits, such as municipal utilities, for emergency work and repairs to damaged facilities.

Money also is available to public entities for repairs to damaged roads, bridges and other infrastructure.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s