3 appeals court judge finalists chosen

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — A district judge from Des Moines, an assistant attorney general from West Des Moines and a Marshalltown lawyer are the three finalists for a seat on the Iowa Court of Appeals.

The names of Judge Christopher McDonald, Assistant Attorney General Jeanie Kunkle Vaudt, and attorney Sharon Greer were forwarded to Gov. Terry Branstad Thursday by the state’s judicial nominating committee. The three were selected from 22 applicants.

The Iowa Constitution gives Branstad 30 days to make an appointment to the court from the three finalists.

The appointee will fill the vacancy on the court that will occur when Chief Judge Larry Eisenhauer retires on Sept. 30.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s