Super conference officially on the way


Below is a press release sent by Daryl Sherman, Superintendent of Schools at Lake Mills.

“The school boards of all Corn Bowl and North Iowa Conference schools were united in their support of a new super conference to start the Fall of 2015.  Each of the 18 schools had the same resolution proposed for consideration at their regular monthly agenda scheduled in March.  All 18 schools reported unanimous support from their school board members to proceed with the concept.  Next steps include superintendent representatives from the CBC and NIC working on a new conference constitution, the athletic directors continue to work on scheduling details, and a new name for the joint conference to be chosen.  Students in the secondary grades from each of the districts will have two suggested conference names to select from, plus the option of offering a new name not yet considered.  Votes for the top name will be considered along with other submitted suggestions, with the final selection determined by early May.  Choices on the ballot include: North Iowa Corn Bowl Conference, Top of Iowa Conference, and ‘Other name for consideration’.


Schools in the newly-formed super conference are: Belmond-Klemme, Bishop Garrigan-Algona, Central Springs, Eagle Grove, Forest City, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura, Lake Mills, Nashua-Plainfield, Newman Catholic-Mason City, North Butler, North Iowa, Northwood-Kensett, North Union, Osage, Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock, St. Ansgar, West Fork, and West Hancock.”

blog comments powered by Disqus