Hospital maintains level 4 trauma designation

Trauma Center

ALBERT LEA, Minn. – Each year trauma claims the lives of about 2,400 Minnesotans, but states with trauma systems have seen survival rates go up significantly.

Since 2005, Minnesota has been using a statewide comprehensive trauma system. There are four levels associated with designated trauma hospitals.

Those at the Mayo Clinic Health System in both Albert Lea and Austin continue to be a level four center because of certain criteria that they are meeting.

“There’s different equipment types of criteria, there’s different response time type of criteria for the providers, as well as nursing staff and education levels,” said Trauma Coordinator Joy Shaft.

She said level one is the highest designation. That would be a place like St. Mary’s Hospital in Rochester.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s