Iowa seeks federal disaster dollars


DES MOINES, Iowa – Governor Terry Branstad is asking for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for eight counties hit by severe storms and flooding between August 23 and August 27.

The counties are Floyd, Howard, Mitchell, Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Winneshiek.

Branstad’s letter requests funding from FEMA’s Public Assistance Program to help rebuild infrastructure like roads and bridge or to cover the costs of emergency work during the storms and debris removal afterward.

A preliminary assessment found these counties sustained an estimated $4.8 million dollars in damage from the severe weather.

Governor Branstad also asked for money to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

The letter to President Obama can be read here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s