President Obama signs Iowa disaster declaration


KIMT News 3 – President Barack Obama declared on Monday that a major disaster exists in Iowa, ordering federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in affected areas by flooding during the period of Sept. 21 to Oct. 3.

Funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Winneshiek, and Wright counties.

Funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

James N. Russo has been named the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

Federal Emergency Management Agency officials said additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s