Minnesota counties to get federal disaster aid


ST. PAUL, Minn. – Governor Mark Dayton says a federal disaster declaration has been issued for nine counties.

Following a request from Dayton, President Obama authorized federal assistance for Fillmore, Freeborn, Blue Earth, Goodhue, Houston, Le Sueur, Rice, Steele and Waseca counties to help them recover from heavy rainstorms and flooding on September 21 and 22.

Preliminary damage assessments found $8.3 million in eligible public infrastructure damage from the severe weather and $10.1 million in estimated individual and household needs.

Two types of federal assistance will be available.

  • Assistance for Public Infrastructure – the disaster declaration will provide assistance to public entities like townships, cities, counties, schools, and certain private not-for-profit organizations for uninsured and eligible storm-related damage to public infrastructure. Examples of eligible expenses include debris removal, emergency protective services, and the repair or replacement of storm-damaged public infrastructure. More information is available here.
  • Hazard Mitigation Grants – the disaster declaration also will make affected Minnesota communities eligible for Hazard Mitigation Grants, which help defray the costs of making repairs necessary to reduce or eliminate long term risks to people and property from natural hazards. Mitigation is a critical tool for breaking the cycle of disaster damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. More information is available here.

President Obama’s disaster declaration can be read here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s