Branstad extends disaster proclamation for 25 counties


DES MOINES, Iowa – Gov. Terry Branstad announced Monday that he is extending the disaster proclamation for counties impacted by the September flooding.

The extension will make the Iowa Individuals Assistance Program available until Dec. 7 for eligible residents in these counties: Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Howard, Jones, Linn, Louisa, Mitchell, Muscatine, Story, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright.

The program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the current federal poverty level, or maximum annual income of $40,320, for a family of three. These grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for expenses related to storm recovery.

You can find the grant application and instructions here.

Applicants have 30 days to submit a claim.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s